National Union of Women’s Suffrage Societies


Active in Britain 1896-1918; major non-militant organization; influential members included Millicent Garrett Fawcett, Lady Frances Balfour, and Eva McLaren; focused on public education and pressuring male parliamentarians for woman suffrage as a non-partisan cause.

 Further reading:

Sandra Stanley Holton, ‘National Union of Women’s Suffrage Societies (act. 1896–1918)’, Oxford Dictionary of National Biography, Oxford University Press. [, accessed 20 Nov 2011]

Leslie P. Hume, The National Union of Women’s Suffrage Societies, 1897–1914 (N.Y. Garland, 1982)

E. Crawford, Women’s suffrage movement in Britain and Ireland: a regional survey (NY: Routledge, 2005)

S. S. Holton, Feminism and democracy: women’s suffrage and reform politics in Britain, 1900–1918 (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2003)

Martin Pugh, The March of the Women: A Revisionist Analysis of the Campaign for Women’s Suffrage, 1866-1914 (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2000)

Veronica Strong-Boag

Veronica Strong-Boag

Veronica Strong-Boag, Ph.D, FRSC, is a Canadian historian specializing in the modern history of women and children in Canada. She is Professor Emerita of Women's History at the University of British Columbia. In 1988 she won the John A. Macdonald Prize (awarded to the best book in Canadian history) for her study of the lives of women in Canada between the wars, entitled The New Day Recalled. In 1993–94 she served as president of the Canadian Historical Association. She was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada in 2001. In July 2012 the Royal Society of Canada announced that Strong-Boag would be awarded the J. B. Tyrrell Historical Medal "for outstanding work in the history of Canada."