Mary Simon


(1947 – )

Mary Simon is a well-known Canadian Inuit leader. Born in northern Quebec, she had an early career with the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation’s Northern Service (CBC) where she established her credentials as someone committed to the north and its peoples. In 1986 she became president of the Inuit Circumpolar Conference and helped to ensure the participation of Russian Inuit. In the 1980s and 1990s she was an Inuit negotiator during negotiations about the repatriation of the Canadian constitution. In 1994, Liberal prime minister Jean Chrétien appointed her the first Canadian ambassador for Circumpolar Affairs. In the 1990s, she was Policy Director for the Royal Commission on Aboriginal People. Between 1999 and 2001 she served as Canadian ambassador to Denmark. Since then she has chaired the Arctic Children and Youth Foundation and served on the Board of Governors of the University of the Arctic and as a Board Member for the National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation. In 2006 she was elected president of the Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami.



Simon, Mary. 1996. Inuit: One Arctic, One Future.Cider Press.

Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami,

Veronica Strong-Boag

Veronica Strong-Boag

Veronica Strong-Boag, Ph.D, FRSC, is a Canadian historian specializing in the modern history of women and children in Canada. She is Professor Emerita of Women's History at the University of British Columbia. In 1988 she won the John A. Macdonald Prize (awarded to the best book in Canadian history) for her study of the lives of women in Canada between the wars, entitled The New Day Recalled. In 1993–94 she served as president of the Canadian Historical Association. She was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada in 2001. In July 2012 the Royal Society of Canada announced that Strong-Boag would be awarded the J. B. Tyrrell Historical Medal "for outstanding work in the history of Canada."